lemon jelly


Borrowed Pakoras
September 7, 2008, 2:25 am
Filed under: food, recipes | Tags: ,

I got an email from Tahera Rawji this weekend saying that I could share her incredible recipe for pakoras here. She’s yet another reason that I wish I were on the West coast. I bet a cooking class with her would be amazing. I guess I’ll just have to make do with my borrowed copy of her cookbook. Did I ever mention that I’m really bad with returning loans?

Pakoras

Note: Eno fruit salt isn’t actually a salt at all. As the bottle says, it’s an ‘effervescing powder’. Look for it with the antacids at the pharmacist’s. I’ve been told that Ms. Rawji is adamant about using it in this recipe. It acts sort of as a leavening to make the pakoras light and crisp. Also, deep-frying is a method that unnerves me, but I have a few tips: heat your oil slowly, lower your heat once you’ve hit a good frying temperature and keep adjusting accordingly, you know that you’re good to go with the oil when you drop in some batter and the oil bubbles around it (see above).

from Tahera Rawji and Hamid Suleman’s Simply Indian, reprinted with permission

  • 2 1/2 cups gram flour (chickpea flour), sifted
  • 1/2 bunch spinach
  • 1 tbsp chopped cilantro
  • 1 medium potato, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • a few pieces of cauliflower
  • 1/4 tsp coriander seeds, split
  • 1/4 salt
  • 1/4 chili powder
  • 1/4 garlic, crushed
  • 1/4 tsp Eno fruit salt
  • 3-4 cups vegetable oil (for deep-frying)
  1. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, spinach, cilantro, potato, onion, cauliflower, coriander seeds, salt, chili powder, and garlic.
  2. Use a tablespoon to add water little by little to form a thick paste.
  3. Add the fruit salt.
  4. Heat the oil in a large pot.
  5. Form the paste into balls and slowly deep-fry them.

Serves six.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

