lemon jelly


Distractions and a Salad
August 8, 2008, 8:13 pm
Filed under: food, recipes | Tags: , , , ,

I’ve been reading a lot lately. I’m at 9 journal articles, 12 chapters from 4 books, and counting for my lit survey. That’s probably only about 500 pages at most, but give me a break – I’m a philosophy undergrad. I consider anything more than 30 pages to be a lot of reading. Of course, I’d have read a lot more by now if it hadn’t been for certain distractions.

Rather than reading Eamonn Callan’s Creating Citizens while at the library yesterday, I found myself browsing wistfully on the Anthropologie website. Isn’t the peacock dinnerware just adorable? The 3-D Toile Full Apron is quite fetching too. I don’t think I can quite justify spending the $108 or so it would cost to purchase just two sets of the peacock dishes, but I do need a new apron…

I’ve also devoted an unusual amount of thought to quinoa over the past couple of days. I’m not very keen on its natural nutty flavour, but, with all of its nutrients, it’s not something to pass up. I really liked the porridge I wrote about a few weeks ago for its use of cardamom pods, so I thought that maybe another spice infusion would be the trick to making quinoa a little more palatable. I also had a little bit of homemade peanut butter left from Heidi Swanson’s amazing vegan peanut butter cookies – clearly the beginnings of a tangy peanut sauce. Throw in a few fresh things from the farmers’ market, and you’ve got a salad with substance.

Summer Quinoa Salad

Note: The 1/2 tsp of chili flakes adds a touch of heat to the salad but isn’t necessary. I enjoy the kick. The vegetables I used were the ones I just happened to have picked up at the farmers’ market yesterday. I’m sure that a number of other summer veggies would work just as well – maybe some blanched broccoli florets or fresh corn kernels or cucumber slices.

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp coriander seeds
  • 1/2 tsp dried chili flakes (optional)
  • 1/2 cup quinoa, well rinsed
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tbsp crunchy peanut butter
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 tsp toasted sesame oil
  • zest and juice of a lime
  • 1/2 a red bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup green string beans, blanched and chopped
  • handful of cherry tomatoes, halved
  1. Heat oil in a medium sauce pan over medium-low heat. Add coriander and and chili flakes and toast until their flavours begin to release, about a minute.
  2. Add quinoa and water, cover, and bring to a boil over high heat. Turn the heat down to low and let simmer for 15-20 minutes or until most of the water has been absorbed.
  3. Meanwhile, stir together peanut butter, soy sauce, maple syrup, sesame oil, lime juice, and lime zest. Add sauce to the cooked quinoa. Stir in bell pepper and green beans. Remove from heat and let cool to room temperature.
  4. Garnish with cherry tomato halves and serve at room temperature or chilled.
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

