lemon jelly


Almond Butter
July 4, 2008, 3:52 pm
Filed under: food, nutrition, recipes | Tags: ,

I’ve never been very good at sleeping in. Once my thoughts (even and maybe especially the trivial ones) get going, sleep just isn’t an option. So, with all the little things churning around in my head early this morning, I gave up on tossing and turning and decided to see what kind of magic I could conjure up with Gavin’s food processor. I made almond butter! I started out with somewhere between a cup and a half and two cups of chopped almonds and ended up with something like 200 mL of creamy almond goodness. It is magic.

A nutritional note: Summers and summers ago, I met une amie Americaine who remains dear to my heart though I haven’t seen her in ages. One of the first things I learned about her that July was that she was vegetarian. For the month or so that we were together pretending to speak and learn French, I would occasionally join her in her vegetarianism as an act of solidarity and because the cafeteria fare was pretty poor. I remember eating a lot of french fries, peanut butter, and crackers. We were sixteen – what did we really know? Anyway, there seems to be this popular misconception that peanut butter is an adequate and excellent source of protein. (At least, that’s my explanation for all of the peanut butter we ate that summer.) Peanuts do pack some protein, but if you’re going to spread something fatty on your toast, you may as well make it worth it – nutritionally, that is. Butters made from almonds, cashews, hazelnuts, and the like offer way more in terms of iron, protein, calcium, and zinc than peanut butter. Just compare the labels the next time you’re at the grocery store.

Almond Butter

Note: Making nut butters requires more patience than effort. I probably spent close to 20 minutes with the food processor. The almonds will resemble a a coarse meal initially, but just keep at it, and a butter will form. I promise!

  • 2 cups raw, whole almonds
  • pinch of salt
  1. Roughly chop almonds and toast in a dry skillet on medium heat until slightly golden, stirring occasionally. Let cool for 5-10 minutes.
  2. Pulse toasted almonds and salt in a food processor until the fats release and a smooth, creamy paste forms.
4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

looks yummy! I always see almond butter at the store, but I rarely eat enough at home to justify purchasing it :(

Comment by Kim

That’s too bad. It is pretty expensive though. A sizable jar is usually around $9-$12. I borrowed a food processor from a friend down the street for some other food adventures, but I woke up this morning trying to figure out how to garnish the cake I was going to make and wound up with almond butter – the end result will be blogged about in the next couple of days…I think it will be a winner! But right now, I just need to sit down and relax.

Comment by Katie

That looks absolutely delicious, and I am deeply disappointed in my beloved peanut butter.

Comment by bitpart

Sorry, Josh, but almond butter tastes better anyway. Remind me sometime soon, and I’ll whip you up a small batch…or you should come over with Alex for brunch some weekend like we planned to in May :P

Comment by Katie




Leave a Reply

