lemon jelly


Let me take you down…
June 29, 2008, 7:24 pm
Filed under: food | Tags: , ,

We picked and ate so many strawberries today. I’m at a loss for what to do with all of them. Kate and I made a lovely, if a little structurally unsound, strawberry-rhubarb pie while the others played Settlers of Catan at the kitchen table, but there is still quite the surfeit of bright, sweet berries sitting in the fridge now. This wouldn’t be such a dilemma if I weren’t going back to my wicked litttle town tomorrow, but I am, and strawberries in any form but jam won’t survive the train trip. I may just end up freezing what doesn’t get eaten tonight for another day. I can’t imagine making another pie any time soon. If anyone has any ideas for what to do with loads of strawberries, do share. I’m experiencing strawberry overload and need a nap.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Make food for me. Clearly.

Comment by willdanceforideas

If you read this entry thoroughly, my dear, you’d notice that strawberries + long-distance travel aren’t really feasible, unless the strawberries are jam, and jam is a waste of good strawberries. Sorry, but the strawberry goodness just won’t make it back to you.

Comment by Katie

I never thought this would happen, but I am actually stawberried out.

Comment by raycraft

I never read anything thoroughly.

Comment by willdanceforideas

Yeah. I wound up freezing the rhubarb (actually, my grandmother did most of the labour while I bustled around trying to cram things into bags, and I ate most of the strawberries for breakfast the next morning. I left some for the parents.

Comment by Katie




Leave a Reply

