lemon jelly


Of dreams and debuts
June 25, 2008, 11:40 pm
Filed under: food, nutrition, recipes | Tags: , ,

There are just some weeks at the end of which there is nothing in the pantry except maybe a couple of pitiful yellow onions and in the fridge a few lacklustre carrots. I admit that my financing skills probably leave something to be desired, but the usual reason behind my scraping together meals out of very little by Thursday or Friday night is that I spent five days in San Francisco this spring and fell in love with the idea of spending a few glorious and itinerant years just traveling and writing and drinking in the world.

This little escape was the first real bit of travel that I’ve been able to do entirely on my own terms, and now I can’t wait to do more. Naturally, this means that the money I don’t spend on food, coffee, or the occasional beer by the end of the week gets plunked into an old jam jar sitting on a shelf in my room. Hence the sparse pickings – either I relish the idea of sticking another twenty in the jar on Saturday morning, or I opted for pints and half-remembered, half-dreamt conversation earlier in the week and can’t bear to blow the weekly budget completely.

Last week was one of those weeks. I had a couple of onions, a bag of organic carrots, some beluga lentils, and not much else lying around that would make for a substantial meal. What I ended up with wasn’t so terribly bad – a pan full of honey-roasted carrot matchsticks and onions with some belugas on the side. It was a passable meal with some potential. I thought that, with some work, it might even be worthy of more distinguished company than just me and my current read, Multicultural Citizenship.

Tonight, my lovely and much-missed friend Islen popped over the border for a visit, and together, we worked out something simple that called for seconds. Presenting, the debut recipe:

Ginger-glazed Carrots and Onions

  • 1 lb carrots, scrubbed, peeled, and cut into sticks
  • 2 medium onions, peeled and quartered
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • generous pinch of salt
  • fresh-ground pepper, liberal twists
  • 1 1/2 tbsp honey (I happened to have wildflower on hand)
  • 1 1/2 tsp freshly grated ginger
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Toss carrots and onion in olive oil, salt, and pepper on a parchment-lined baking sheet.
  3. Roast vegetables in the oven for about 20 minutes or until they begin to brown, turning once for more even colouring.
  4. In the meantime, heat honey in a small sauce pan on medium-low heat and stir ginger into the honey. Add lemon juice to the honey glaze.
  5. When the 20 minutes is up, pull the vegetables out of the oven and drizzle with half of the glaze. Return the vegetables to the oven for another 5-7 minutes. Then, remove them again, give them another toss, drizzle them with the remaining glaze, and return them to the oven for a final 5-7 minutes.
  6. Serve vegetables warm with your favourite legumes, a salad, and some crusty bread.

Serves 2 generously.

Note: I keep a bag of peeled ginger root in my freezer at all times. When I need some, it’s just a matter of going into the freezer for a piece and grating it directly into wherever it’s needed.

Nutrition: No, this certainly doesn’t make a meal in itself, but carrots are a bargain as far as fibre and vitamin A go.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This looks simple enough even for me.

I have a proposition: You can be the chef on our Californian farm. I’ll make you a series of sexy, frilly aprons. One for every day of the week.

Comment by raycraft

You have my heart; it’s a deal! I can’t say no to California AND sexy, frilly aprons!

Comment by Katie




Leave a Reply

