lemon jelly


Pleased by Peas
June 21, 2008, 5:55 pm
Filed under: food, nutrition | Tags: , ,

The Saturday routine looks something like this: I wake up, scour grocery fliers and cookbooks and blogs, write a shopping list around some meal possibilities for the week, and then head out to the wide world of edible goodness. A friend lent me a copy of Becoming Vegetarian: the Complete Guide to Adopting a Healthy Vegetarian Diet earlier this week, so I was particularly intent this morning on grabbing some wholesome items to make up for the nutrients that I’ve relied on meat for in the past. I picked up some green lentils, the usual whole wheat and flax bread, and some other key items, but my favourite find for the week was definitely the English peas from the farmers’ market – moderately iron-rich and protein-packed and still in the pod.

The few that I snacked on raw I found to be mild and sweet but with a lingering bitter aftertaste. About 25 seconds in boiling water, as per Heidi Swanson’s instructions, took that edge off and made them verdant and wonderfully sweet. I don’t know what I’m going to do with the rest yet. I added some to whole wheat pasta with asparagus, red onion, and roasted garlic, but I wasn’t particularly pleased with the result. I think the peas need a creamier accompaniment, and maybe brown rice would complement them better than the pasta. I don’t know; I’ve had a thing for brown rice lately.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I got a bunch too… let me know what you do with them because I’m at a loss.

Comment by K8

I wound up just blanching them for 30 s or so in water, then browning some minced garlic (two cloves was too much) and scallions and then adding the peas to that with a pinch of salt. Not very exciting, but I didn’t want to overwhelm the peas with other ingredients.
Check out 101 Cookbooks for some other neat ideas for peas. If I had the time/ingredients to make the tart, I would:
http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/000161.html

Comment by Katie




Leave a Reply

